The crafty librarian

Planning a wedding is no easy task.

I believe I mentioned in an earlier post that I have a fiancé? In case you missed that, here are the details: my fiancé and I met in high school, but only became serious about each other in college. On our 10 year anniversary, my monkey got down on one knee and asked me to spend forever with him (AWWW so cute, right?). As you all know, a proposal is followed by an engagement period, in which a bride-to-be is tasked with planning a wedding. Naturally, my fiancé, being a guy’s guy, is happy to leave all the decision-making to me, because I’m a woman, so of course I know what I’m doing?! Well, if you haven’t figured it out already, I’m struggling at this too (I am the struggling librarian after all).

It’s a good thing I’m a perfectionist and like to get started ahead. So far, I’ve developed a budget, made up the guest list, decided on a theme, found and signed with a venue, convinced my fiancé’s best friend to officiate our wedding (this should be interesting), and found and booked a photographer, a makeup artist, and a hairdresser. This all took about 4 months (I work 6 days a week, remember?), and took much research and gillions of phone calls and e-mails. This was all the easy part.The hard part? The decoration and execution of the theme.

I am not an artsy person. My sister has always been the artsy one. I draw stick figures. To say I also lack a flair for decorating is an understatement. My monkey and I’s apartment walls feature a collection of super hero frames, frames with pretty quotes in them, and a storm trooper clock. Oh and bookshelves, can’t forget the bookshelves. I needed help.

I started a Pinterest account to look for ideas, pinned what I liked, that would also suit my personality. My sister then had the most fantastic idea. A book bouquet. What better way to display my love for books than a book bouquet? I thought “sure, why not?! Can’t be so difficult, right?” Wrong.

The trials of book bouquet-making.

First things first, for those of you interested, I found these two wonderful templates on Lia Griffith and 100 Layer Cake . Both blog posts are extremely helpful, giving step by step guides on making paper flowers.

As the school library was in the process of weeding, I took the opportunity to save some of the books that were being weeded for my project. A little tidbit of advice: if you want to undertake a project such as this one, bigger books are a better option, as you want to try and fit most of the template on one page to eliminate waste. Now, back to my story. I decided to take on the Lia Griffith roses first, as it seemed the easiest of the two. Instead of using the printed sheets for the flowers, I printed out one template and used this to stencil out the flowers from book pages. Given the fact I believe I do not have an artistic bone in my body, creating these paper flowers was no easy feat. It took me precisely 45 minutes to make one rose. These 45 minutes also consisted of glue gun burns, tears, and a plethora of curses.

I’m not going to lie, I was about to give up. Until my monkey walked into the room and made everything better. He was astounded. “You made this?! Please make one for my boutonnière?!” Well, I couldn’t give up after that, right?

Since then, I have made two other flowers. Not because I was discouraged, but only because I’ve been extremely busy with work and these do take 45 minutes to make, after all. However, I am so pleased with my results that I will share them with you (please excuse the poor picture quality).

Not so bad, right? Goes to show, even a struggling librarian can sometimes be a crafty one. I plan to try to make one a day until the wedding. Wish me luck.

Sincerely,
The Struggling Librarian

Leave a Reply

