My must reads this summer

I did not forget about you, world.

I am so very sorry for my hiatus these past two days. I promise, I have a good excuse. Yesterday was my engagement photo shoot! Between work and the various appointments I had to *look pretty*, I have had very little time to myself since my last blog post. With that being said, I did not have as much time to prepare for today’s post. I did not, however, want to leave you guys hanging for a third day. So, here it is.

I am only into book two of my Sarah Dessen journey, and I’ve already compiled a list of must-reads. Not an excuse, but a lot of my free time has been devoted to wedding planning, thus I’ve fallen a little behind on my reading lately. Not to mention that all the various deposits I have had to pay for have left my budget a little tight. I know, I know, I am librarian, I could borrow books, duh! However, the libraries in which I work have tight budgets too, so I am usually left to depend on my public library’s collection, in which I have to compete with other avid readers to get my hands on the new book I want to read. Hence, I am behind in my reading. So, without further ado, my must-reads for this summer.

The four books I am behind on.

I am going to start with four books that have already come out, that I ABSOLUTELY DEFINITELY need to read before the summer is over:

Forest of Ruin by Kelley Armstrong

Forest of Ruin is the conclusion to Armstrong’s Age of Legends trilogy. For those of you who haven’t read the series, it follows the trials of twin sisters Ashyn and Moria, Seeker and Keeper,  and their mission to save the empire from enraged spirits and those seeking to do evil. I am not going to give anything away, but this series is fantastic for those of you that love YA and fantasy.

Lady Midnight by Cassandra Clare

Book one in Clare’s Dark Artifices Trilogy, Lady Midnight follows the adventures and plights of Emma Carstairs, first introduced at the end of the Mortal Instruments series. For those of you who haven’t been introduced to the Shadow Hunter world, I urge you to get on it! This is the third series of the Shadow Hunter chronicles, and I am incredibly psyched to get started. Also a must-read for all of you YA fantasy lovers out there!

Rebel of the Sands by Alwyn Hamilton

I will admit, I was first drawn to this book because of its cover. I know, one should never judge a book by its cover, but one can definitely be drawn to the book because of its cover, no? Another YA fantasy (can you see a pattern here?), it is a story of the desert, djinni, magic, and a mysterious love interst – enough said.

The Rose and the Dagger by Renée Ahdieh

The sequel to the Wrath and the Dawn, The Rose and the Dagger continues the Thousand and One Nights-inspired saga. In this YA fantasy, Shahrzad must decide whether or not her love for Khalid, the caliph, is worth the destruction that follows him.

Now, my top 3 coming out this summer:

Harry Potter and the Cursed Child by J.K. Rowling, Jack Thorne & John Tiffany

If you’re not excited about this one, we can no longer be friends. No description needed other than HARRY. FREAKING. POTTER. Coming out at the end of this month!!!!!!

Betrayals by Kelley Armstrong

Okay, so this one is adult fantasy (see, I can read like a grown-up too!). As you can also tell, Kelley Armstrong is one of my favourite authors. This is book 4 in her Cainsville series. I am so excited to what happens to Olivia next. Cainsville is the mysterious town Olivia flees too after it gets out that her biological parents are serial killers. Weird things happen. Olivia has visions. Gabriel. Ricky. You have to read this when it comes out in August (gives you a month to catch up on the other three 😉 ).

A Torch Against the Night by Sabaa Tahir

This YA fantasy-bordering on dystopia is the sequel to An Ember in  the Ashes, and surprisingly, the book I am the most excited about. Set in a world based on ancient Rome, Elias the soldier and Laia the slave’s lives are thrown together when Laia’s brother is arrested for treason. Elias wants to be free of the soldier life. Laia wants to free her brother. So much action and intrigue, a mercilessly brutal villain, oh and did I mention this is inspired by ancient Rome?! (I did my BA in Classics, so this is right up my alley). That’s about all I am going to say other than I CANNOT WAIT. This gem is out at the end of August.

I hope you are just as excited as I am for my must-reads, and by the same token, my recommendations for this summer. What books are you excited to read?

Sincerely,
The Struggling Librarian

Leave a Reply

